Walk of Honour 2014

Dreamspeakers Festival Society

Invites you to attend the ceremony of our Aboriginal Walk of Honour “Neka’new’ak” inductees on Saturday, March 29, 2014 at 2:00 – 3:30 PM at the Winspear Centre in Edmonton, Alberta.

Come join in this tribute ceremony and show your support to these Aboriginal leaders of our community as they place handprints into a concrete block for Dreamspeakers Festival Society’s “Walk of Honour”.

Neka’new’ak inductees are:
Pearl Calahasen
Douglas Cardinal
Wilton Littlechild
Audrey Poitras

Walk of Honour
Saturday, March 29, 2014
Winspear Centre
4 Sir Winston Churchill Square NW, Edmonton AB
2:00 PM – 3:30 PM

Pearl Calahasen, first Aboriginal woman elected to public office in Alberta, is the longest serving female MLA in Alberta history and was minister of a number of Cabinet portfolios. She has been a strong supporter of Native education programs and led the development of the first Alberta Native language program. Recognized as a role model by her community, Pearl has received induction and honorary awards for her work.

Douglas Cardinal crafts harmonious structures and his Aboriginal heritage influences his architecture. Most notable designs are the Canadian Museum of Civilization, National Museum of the American Indian, and Edmonton Space and Science Centre. Douglas has received Gold Medals from Architecture institutes. He has also been awarded the Governor General’s Award in Visual and Media Arts and the Order of Canada.

Willie Littlechild, member of the U.N. Permanent Forum on Indigenous Issues and U.N. Expert Mechanism on the Rights of Indigenous Peoples, was the first Treaty Indian from Alberta to obtain a law degree. He spent five years as a Member of Parliament. An Order of Canada recipient, Willie advocates for Indigenous Peoples rights and implementation of the Treaties between Indigenous Peoples and the Crown.

Audrey Poitras is one of the highest profile Metis women in Canada. As the first female elected President of the Metis Nation of Alberta (MNA) in 1996, she has become the longest serving President of MNA. She has raised the profile of MNA and has advanced the interests and rights of Métis Nation as a whole. From Métis identity to Métis rights and recognition, Audrey remains a key figure among Canada’s political leaders.